Him and Her Sex Blog

We talk about sex and sexuality

Him: Topic 22: Artificial Hymen

Leave a comment

The very thought that there is a market for Artificial hymens makes me physically ill. The reasons for needing something like an artificial hymen are obvious to me; there are parts of the world where a woman can be put to death if she doesn’t bleed the first time she has sex with her husband. There is, of course, a big problem with this. That problem becomes clear when you know a few simple things about female anatomy.

Not all women bleed the first time they have sex. Some women break their hymen through vigorous activities like horse back riding. Some women, my sister included, can break the hymen the first time they use a tampon. What I’m trying to say is that there is something fundamentally wrong with the state of things when a young woman thinks that she needs a fake hymen to ensure her safety. Especially when women who have an intact hymen might not bleed the first time they have sex.

I’m going to come right out and say that it disturbs me to my core that religious views, which is where this problem seems to come from, can have such an adverse affect on society as a whole. I don’t care that the market for these things is in the middle east, it effects people here in the United States as well if only in regards to the fight for feminism that is still taking place today. I wouldn’t be surprised to find out that there are young women who have heard about this artificial hymen and thought it could be beneficial to them to use it.

I’ve written before about my views on the notion of virginity, those views have not changed in the least. This disgusting tool is only reinforcing my hatred on this societies preoccupation concerning the fucking idealized notion of the blushing virgin bride. I don’t know when the idea of virginity being the most important thing came into vogue, but I can’t wait for the notion to GO. AWAY.

The artificial hymen can save innocent girl’s lives, and for that I am eternally thankful. That the fucking thing is needed in this modern society on the other hand, makes me so angry I feel the need to hit something. I had thought the world was well beyond the need to have something like an Artificial Hymen so a young woman could keep her head.

Him

Leave a Reply

