Him and Her Sex Blog

We talk about sex and sexuality

Him: Topic #20

Leave a comment

As a gay man, I can tell you that one of the most difficult and stressful things I’ve ever had to do is come out to my Parents. It’s actually kinda funny how I came out to my mom. She was sitting in her room doing her makeup when she called me back and said, “So Him, when are you going to tell me that you’re Gay?” To which I responded with a forceful and squeaky, “Uh…how about right…now?”

During those few minutes it literally felt like the world slowed to a crawl, and my heart was pounding out of my chest. As I spoke I swear to you I could hear my heart beating louder than anything else  in the room, where she had AC/DC playing very loudly. The aftermath was fairly anti-climactic, she told me she loved me no matter what and that was really the end of that.

Being out in my day to day life used to be a very important thing for me. I would literally introduce myself with “I’m gay” These days though that doesn’t seem to happen much at all. Being gay is a part of who I am, but it is by no means THE thing that defines me. I’m happy in my skin and I hope that all our readers who have to come out, no matter what they are coming out about, know that life out is still just life.

Also, I’m super stressed out this week, so sorry if this isn’t up to par. I’ll do better next time, I SWEAR!

Him

Leave a Reply

