Him and Her Sex Blog

We talk about sex and sexuality

Her: Topic #19

Leave a comment

Hey followers of Him and Her. I’m posting this in the Phoenix airport as I am on my to New York. Sorry for spelling errors too because I am on my iPad.

So this weeks topic is a very important one because MANY people do not know how to effectively prevent or, if in the unfortunate event, live with HIV/AIDS.

When I think of how to contract HIV the first thing that comes to mind is the myth that it can be contracted through kissing/saliva. As you will hear in more detail in the podcast for this week, you would literally have to drink a lot of spit and have cuts in your mouth. Still though, it is important to be cautious.

I think a very important part of prevention of HIV is to get tested regularly. You need to have a baseline at some point so that you can try to predict when (if) you contracted the HIV virus. I myself have had the finger prick test for HIV, and it is not bad. I have no risk or getting HIV because I am not sexually active and I do not use any sort of needles for drugs or anything, but I thought it was a good idea to get tested just to educate myself about the process.

I guess that is all I really have to say, but this weeks podcast with Jai Smith from Southern Arizona AIDS Foundation is amazing and very informative so PLEASE listen and tell your friends.

Her

Leave a Reply

