Him and Her Sex Blog

We talk about sex and sexuality

Her: Topic #16

Leave a comment

This week’s topic is one of my favorite so far. I did not know much about asexuality before this week, and I definitely feel like I have more knowledge now.

One thing that stands out to me is how much it can vary person to person. I personally know 3 or 4 people who identify as asexual, and all of them define it differently.

Asexuality to me is definitely not weird or abnormal. To be honest I probably fit the description a little bit too. I am sexually attracted to people, but I do not “need to act out that attraction.” If I was in a committed relationship with someone though, and felt comfortable with them, I wouldn’t hesitate to have sex. I myself have never had sex either, just because it was never necessary or wanted in any of my past relationships.  

I think if someone identifies as asexual, and experiences no sexual or physical attraction towards someone, it would almost be, I don’t want to say a relief, but a relief. I would think that any relationship you got into you would be better off because you aren’t judging based on appearance. Perhaps I am incorrect in that assumption though, and I’m sure that’s not the case for everyone.

I do think that asexuality is becoming more talked about though in communities, and sooner than later, it will just be any other identity.

Leave a Reply

