Him and Her Sex Blog

We talk about sex and sexuality

Him: Topic #10

Leave a comment

I’ll be totally honest, Furries used to creep me out really, really badly. I thought they were a bunch of freaks that wanted to have sex with animals. I mean, come on, fursuits? Really? Then something amazing happened, I met and spoke to a person who identified herself as a Furry. 

For posterities sake I’m not going to give out any names, but I will tell you she’s a Raccoon, and she’s never in her life worn a fursuit…or had the desire. After talking to Raccoon for about three hours, I came away feeling like the biggest asshole around. I’d done to the furry community what has been done to the gay community for years, I judged them based on here say and skewed facts. If you ask most furries, they’ll tell you that it’s not a choice, that it’s something that is as integral to their being as their faith or their sexuality. 

You might be scratching your head right now saying, “But isn’t being a Furry all about sex?” It’s not, there is of course a sexual aspect to the community, but not all of the community is based on the fetishization of anthropomorphized animals. Some Furries have no desire to have sex with any kind of animal, not even mostly human ones. Many people who are of the furry persuasion have a particular animal that they feel a very strong spiritual connection to/with, I like to think of it as being similar to Native American Totems. 

So, like most of you reading this, my first brush the the furry fandom was…not the greatest experience. I was perusing the forums on some website when this picture popped up: WARNING THIS IS AN EXPLICIT PHOTO. I was repulsed and shocked and just a little disturbed, my first reaction was, “Oh my god, what the fuck?! Thats disgusting! UGH!” I then proceeded to close my laptop and go outside, because fuck all that. 

Anyone who’s used the internet for more than just Facebook has no doubt run into the Furry Fandom at some point, usually it’s in the form of a meme or some other humorous picture. I guess what I’m trying to say is that the Furries aren’t going anywhere, so we should just get used to them right? I mean, look at those darn gays, people have thought that they are freaks for years, and their still around. 

I think that the Furries are harmless, I wish people would stop being so judgmental about other peoples sexuality and fetishes, but thats not likely to go away anytime soon. This particular Fandom/Fetish is really not detrimental to anyone involved, so what if some Furries want to wear a fur suit? Hows that different from a woman dressing up as a french maid for her husband? It’s what gets them off…deal with it. 

Leave a Reply

